EWS (Economically Weaker Section) Certificate – How to Apply, Eligibility & Documents

EWS Certificate:- Indian citizens who fall under the Economy Based Un-Reserved Category are referred to as EWS, or Economically Weaker Section, individuals. The government-imposed annual income threshold is not met by the EWS household or citizen. The government offers an EWS certificate, which enables EWS citizens to take advantage of several benefits, based on the economic vulnerability of this segment of society.

EWS Certificate

About EWS Certificate

EWS Certificates are granted to Indian people who fall under the economically disadvantaged category. These certificates enable them to apply for government jobs and higher education in the country with a 10% reservation. The EWS bill 2019 was authorized by the Indian president on January 12, 2019, and it was initially implemented by the Gujarat government on January 14. The Indian government passed the law on January 14. EWS certificates are income or asset certifications issued by the government to EWS citizens, which they are required to present while applying for government positions or during admittance. The reservation programs under the SC, ST, and OBC categories are not available to candidates under the EWS category.

 UP Income Certificate

Economically Weaker Section Certificate Details in Highlights

NameEWS Certificate
Full formEconomically Weaker Section
Issued byIndian government
Beneficiarieseconomically disadvantaged people
Application modeOnline and offline
Certificate renewalOne year
Official website

Objective of EWS Certificate

The goals of the EWS Bill are as follows:

  • To offer the underprivileged people opportunities.
  • 10% of the General category’s economically disadvantaged candidates are eligible for reservations.
  • Reservation is done by the government according to income.
  • However, other castes are not eligible to use this service.

Advantages of EWS Certificate

The EWS certificate has the following advantages:

  • It aids those falling under the General category who are struggling financially.
  • Permits candidates to get advantages from government programs and the education sector
  • All major universities under UGC are eligible for the 10% EWS reservation.
  • With an Economically Weaker Section certificate, applicants can access State and Central government subsidy programs.

Vaccine Certificate Download by Name

Issuing Authorities of EWS Certificate?

The organizations that issue EWS certificates are as follows:

1. Any One of the issuing authorities:

  • District Magistrate
  • Additional Deputy Commissioner
  • Sub-Divisional Magistrate
  • Additional District Magistrate
  • Deputy Commissioner
  • Collector
  • Taluka Magistrate
  • Executive Magistrate
  • Extra Assistant Commissioner
  • First Class Stipendiary Magistrate

2. Any One of the following authorities:

  • Presidency Magistrate
  • Chief Presidency Magistrate
  • Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate

3. District revenue office

Note: Beneficiaries cannot receive an EWS certificate from an officer below the rank of Tehsildar or Sub-Divisional Officer.

Documents Required

Following are the documents required for apple

  • Aadhar card
  • PAN card
  • Proof of identification
  • Caste certificate
  • Income certificate
  • Bank statement
  • Property or landproof
  • Domicile certificate or Residential proof
  • Passport sized photograph
  • Self-declaration or Affidavit

Birth Certificate Correction

Eligibility Criteria for Apply

Before applying for EWS, make sure you fulfill all the eligibility criteria mentioned below:

  • The candidate must fall under the general category.
  • A family’s annual income should not exceed Rs. 8 lakhs.
  • Candidates shouldn’t own more than five acres of agricultural land.
  • Applicants must own a residential property with an area of no more than 100 square feet.
  • A residential plot in a section of a notified municipality shall not be larger than 100 square yards.
  • A residential site in an unnotified municipality should not be larger than 240 square yards.

Note: Family income comes from a variety of sources, including wages from private work, a business, an agribusiness, etc.

The term “family” refers to the applicant’s parents, spouse, children, and siblings under the age of eighteen.

Procedure to Apply for an EWS Certificate

Applicants for Economically Weaker Section certificates may submit their applications online or offline, based on the state government’s policies.

Online Method

The steps to apply online for an EWS certificate are as follows:

  • Go to the official authority’s website.
  • Choose the appropriate department.
  • Enter your personal information and earnings.
  • Upload the relevant paperwork scan copies.
  • Cover the application cost.
  • Select “Submit” from the menu.
  • Online receipt generation will occur upon successful payment completion.

Offline Method

The steps to apply offline for an EWS certificate are as follows:

  • Visit the local office of the issuing authority or the revenue department.
  • Obtain the program or download it from the internet.
  • Complete the form by entering the necessary information.
  • To obtain the application receipt, make the payment.

Application Fees for Economically Weaker Section Certificate

Depending on your state, the application fee for an EWS certificate usually varies between ₹50 and ₹100. For correct fee information, always check the Tehsildar office or the official portal.

What distinguishes the OBC certificate from the EWS certificate?

General category citizens are eligible for an EWS certificate if their annual income is less than Rs 8 lacs. Citizens from the SC, ST, and OBC categories who earn less than Rs 8 lakh annually are eligible to receive OBC certificates.

How long is the Economically Weaker Section certificate valid?

Generally speaking, the EWS certificate is valid for a year from the date of issuance; however, this can vary according on the state’s designated authority. Before using their EWS certificate, candidates must additionally confirm that their asset or income certificate is legitimate.

How does one go about unlocking the user?

Go to the official website and select “Unlock user.” To unlock the user, enter the User ID and captcha and select “Get details.”

How long does it take to process an EWS certificate application?

The processing of an Economically Weaker Section certificate application takes up to 21 days from the date of submission.

Leave a Comment